Costs of putting property in trust

We have been advised by a lawyer that to put property in trust we must pay the closing costs twice.

They said this is because you have to transfer the property twice, once from seller to trust and then on completion again from trust to buyer.

This means that the fees would be doubled, costing us an extra 10k which we want to avoid.

Can anyone advise if this is correct?

Also what would our best alternatives be? A promise to buy and sell contract?

We have a 20% deposit to put down upfront and then would be paying the balance in about six months time.

Please let us know if you can help us!

Whose lawyer has told you this? The sellers? Have you confirmed it with your own lawyer?

You will know by now that some things are done differently here, but I have no first hand knowledge regarding this actual situation, but you could hold off/back off to complete the deal, until you have the funds secured to pay in total. Many properties take a very long time to sell.

We have been told this by our potential lawyer, recommended by the real estate agent. We have not put any money down yet.

But we will lose the deal to someone else if we don't commit within the next month.

Trying to work out the best scenario for us bearing in mind we cannot pay balance for about six months. Owner has agreed to this as long as we put down 20% deposit.

Trust - costs seem to be doubled as transfer done twice

Promise to buy and sell agreement - we hav been told this is risky for us if seller backs out (and he has our deposit)

Mortgage - the title would be transferred to us on payment of deposit. I don't think the seller likes this option.

I think we are running out of ideas now!