robertwl

Professional couple seeks 6-week spring/2013 Heredia-area/SJ rental

Hello,

My wife and I (she's an early-retired school Principal; I'm a writer/speaker) will be leaving Canada for Heredia/San Jose for six weeks next year (Apr. 1-May 15, 2013 and are hoping to find an apartment, condo or small house/cottage to rent for that period. If readers may know of individuals/organizations who may have such properties available, I'd be grateful to hear from you.

We're looking for something ranging from the budget/economy category to mid-range. We're on somewhat of a budget and are hoping to find a safe, clean and quiet spot in a pleasing area or neighborhood.

Thanks again for your help on this forum; I do appreciate it.

Bob

Hello Bob,

Welcome to the Forums.

Your trip is a whole year away. I don't think you will find anything 'budget/economy minded' listed anywhere that far ahead of time. And those places listed online are usually more expensive, looking to take advantage of the gringo pocketbook..

My suggestion to you is what is frequently recommended by us here on the Forums to newbies to CR and that is that when you eventually come that you make a reservation at a nice B&B and stay for a week or two and while you look around for something the suits your budget.

There are often bulletin boards in grocery stores and pulperias or in little bill-paying offices. Sometimes your host at the B&B will know of something. But often you can just wander around residential parts of town and look for 'Se Alquila' signs on buildings. Ticos don't often advertise in the newspaper because they feel that if they spend money on an ad and their place doesn't get rented before the ad expires, then they've wasted their money. So ticos are more inclined to hang a 'for rent' sign on the front of the house. I have seen 'for rent' signs go up on a house in the morning and be back down with the place rented two or three hours later.