markp

Getting a morgage to buy a new house

Hello, I am looking for some feedback from others that may have purchased a home and financed part of the purchase through a bank.

I am a Permanente resident and currently working (just for the past 2m) I meet with a representative of BAC as they are the banc my current employer uses for my pay. They have told me that I have to be working 1 year with the same company in Costa Rica before I can apply for a mortgage or 6 months with the same employer if I have 2 years additional work history here.

Just wondering if this is a standard practice across all the banks or is anyone aware of another bank that I could get financing from sooner than 1 year.

I was hoping that they would be more focused on my credit rating and current assets and the % of the house value that I would be financing.

I am looking at a new home and would only be financing 40-50% of the purchase price.

Thank you

Mark

All the banks that I have worked with require atleast 1 year of work history. Do you have a corporation that is more than 1 year old? Is that corporation connected to a bank account that you have money coming into? If so you can use that as your 1 year of work history. You will just need to get a certified letter from an accountant to verify income.

All the banks that I have worked with require atleast 1 year of work history. Do you have a corporation that is more than 1 year old? Is that corporation connected to a bank account that you have money coming into? If so you can use that as your 1 year of work history. You will just need to get a certified letter from an accountant to verify income.

Yes I have a CR SA corp that is 2years old but the bank account tied to that corp only has minimal activity until the last 6m as I was not activly using it.

I have been givin this same advise from others so I will persue this with my lawyer and the bank to see if this satifies them

Thank you