CentroJoe

Buying in Costa Rica...thoughts?

I have been considering buying a place down there for about 6 years…I visit yearly for 3-4 weeks every Feb. and have really fallen in love with the Pacific area between Jaco and Parrita.

Obviously prices have come down with the US and world economy, but I am a little concerned about any other reasons for the pricing downfall I may be missing….

I have heard some chatter about new laws for foreigners recently that are not as favorable, but can’t seem to find what they are to determine if they would change my mind.

My main concern is if I am missing something with the pricing going down or is it just simply that people are lowering prices simply because they need the money like her ein the U.S.

Ideally, I plan to spend 3 months a year and some week long visits ever 3 months and then in a few years maybe 6 months a year down there…

Any advice from experience is much appreciated. I’d love to hear from anyone doing something similar.(good or bad)

Thanks for any insight!

Joe

New laws?

Well, let's see...

The monetary requirements for Rentista and Pensinado residency have risen to $2500 and $1000 per month respectively. CR Migracion is stepping up enforcement.

A "Luxury Tax" on houses valued at ~<$170,000 has been imposed.

A new traffic law (parts of which are still in limbo) has been enacted. Some new requirements for drivers and stiffer fines.

None of these new laws have had a huge impact on most people's day-to-day lives so while new laws are always a concern, none of these have prooved to be a huge issue for most.

Many of the original prices were ridiculous and aimed at ignorant buyers. Now, SOME of the sellers have become more realistic because they have been sitting on their "big-money-making investment" longer than they would like and they need some cash.