Is the real estate market cooling in Costa Rica too?

• 2 weeks later...

Tim and Ryan can give a more informed response to your direct question Kahuna, but I will add a comment that tourism has been down some 30% this past year and that would indicate reduced purchases throughout our economy in Costa Rica :o

Tim and Ryan can give a more informed response to your direct question Kahuna, but I will add a comment that tourism has been down some 30% this past year and that would indicate reduced purchases throughout our economy in Costa Rica :o

I am curious about your observation that tourism being down 30% this year. I read in the Tico Times this week that the figures were that it was up 15%. Both the housing market and the tourism business are o interest to me. I work in the corporate group travel business and I am thinking in terms of starting a specialty tour company.

my comment is based on communications with local shop keepers, hoteliers and merchants in our region which is La Fortuna / Arenal and their cash flow difficulties for this past season - I do not have the hard numbers to support it as factual but do see the sell-off trend in my business - so, take it for what is is worth to you and understand the source

my comment is based on communications with local shop keepers, hoteliers and merchants in our region which is La Fortuna / Arenal and their cash flow difficulties for this past season - I do not have the hard numbers to support it as factual but do see the sell-off trend in my business - so, take it for what is is worth to you and understand the source

Antidotal info is also valuable information, even if it is localized is important too, thanks.

In your opinion then, the real estate market has been driven more by speculative tourest (buy and hold) vs north americans that are actually moving there to retire (buy and utilize)?